Heads Up! Suspicious Accounts and a Possible New Spam Technique?
I have a feeling that there might be a new spam robot going around with the user handle: “janeseymore09092″
Recently on my other site (which attracts a few visitors here and there) The Dangers Of MySpace, I noticed a new account. No one has ever registered for this site and I have since taken down new registrations. The account is registered from the e-mail address loginitpt@cashette.com which is a free service that pays you for each spam e-mail you get, apparently (?).
So, I Googled the user name and all of the sudden, tons of results. There were 824 results to be exact and all were registered at various sites on Saturday, January 13 and Sunday, January 14, 2007. All of the interests for this user where the same, i.e. Occupation: Travel Agent and Interests: Scuba Diving.
I’m not sure what the point of this is, but I have since banned the user and e-mail address and you might want to consider that too since the registrations are popping up worldwide at random sites and something is definitely odd and suspicious about this.
Posted: January 14th, 2007 under General News, Personal.
Comments: 1
Comments
Comment from Jordan
Time: January 17, 2007, 11:11 am
Well, sometimes people do sign up for a lot of web sites at once… but even were I to go 24/2 there’s no way I could pull off 824, so it must be some kind of weird bot. I just hope in killing the bots the guys who just sign up for a lot of stuff don’t get shot









Write a comment